Precious Bodily Fluids

The Last Few Years

The following list records some of my favorites from the films of this millennium. I’m putting them here mostly for my own reference (up until now they’ve been in my head). And if it interests any of the four of you who check this blog, then cool.

2000:

O Brother Where Art Thou? (Coen Brothers)

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (Ang Lee)

Magnolia (Paul Thomas Anderson)

High Fidelity (Stephen Frears)

Snatch (Guy Ritchie)

2001:

Gosford Park (Robert Altman)

The Royal Tenenbaums (Wes Anderson)

Mulholland Dr. (David Lynch)

2002:

Adaptation (Spike Jonze)

Habla Con Ella (Talk to Her) (Pedro Almodovar)

Punch Drunk Love (Paul Thomas Anderson)

The Bourne Identity (Dough Liman)

The Pianist (Roman Polanski)

2003:

Lost in Translation (Sofia Coppola)

Coffee & Cigarettes (Jim Jarmusch)

House of Sand and Fog (Vadim Perelman)

Intolerable Cruelty (Coen Brothers)

2004:

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (Michel Gondry)

The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou (Wes Anderson)

The Incredibles (Brad Bird)

Collateral (Michael Mann)

Shaun of the Dead (Edgar Wright)

2005:

Match Point (Woody Allen)

Batman Begins (Christopher Nolan)

No Direction Home (Martin Scorsese)

2006:

Children of Men (Alfonso Cuaron)

Pan’s Labyrinth (Guillermo del Toro)

Volver (Pedro Almodovar)

The Departed (Martin Scorsese)

Thank You For Smoking (Jason Reitman)

A Prairie Home Companion (Robert Altman)

Marie Antoinette (Sofia Coppola)

The Science of Sleep (Michel Gondry)

The Prestige (Christopher Nolan)

Superman Returns (Brian Singer)

A Scanner Darkly (Richard Linklater)

2007:

There Will Be Blood (Paul Thomas Anderson)

No Country for Old Men (Coen Brothers)

The Darjeeling Limited (Wes Anderson)

Ratatouille (Brad Bird)

Persepolis (Marjane Satrapi)

This entry was published on February 10, 2008 at 5:25 pm. It’s filed under Lists and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “The Last Few Years

  1. Marie on said:

    Okay so I just caught up on this all. And now I want to watch movies, only not by myself, but probably with you. The last movie I saw had Mandy Moore in it, and it was lame, I had to FF a screaming part because it was so annoying. I’m not really great at being brave when I pick out stuff. I think I’ll take the entire month of August off and come watch movies with you guys, okay? Me and Deana can sit on the couch with the chips and you can take up all the floor. 🙂
    Also, I never knew you admired Matt Allison, did I?

  2. Zach on said:

    Let’s do it, chica. I’m at least at interested in watching movies with you as I am in watching The Greatest TV Show Ever with you. Last night D & I finished watching the series for the umpteenth time. And I’ll gladly watch it from the floor.

    Of course I admire MA. I credit him with much of my unofficial education. He’s on a similar plane as Hopper.

  3. So glad for the Almodovar mentions. I’ve been trying to come up with a list also, but the idea of writing it down freaks me out. It’s too much commitment that I’m not ready for.

Leave a Reply

